Grinder Up’

30 Sep

Before I begin

That. Just. Happened.

Delicious lunch. I’ve never ground peanuts to make nut butter of any sorts and I’m jealous of those who’ve have. I was so giddy during the process. I wish someone I knew was standing close to me so I could have shared my excitement in the whole process, but there wasn’t. This God sent machine is in the health food store that I got my lunch at the other day. I’ve been meaning to buy this peanut butter since my third day of work, give or take, but always was stocked at the office.Not today! That little tub only cost me $2.14.

Apartment news!

So I went to Williamsburg last night and checked out a two bedroom for $1500. Williamsburg, $1500, two stops from Manhattan is pretty darn good. The verdict …

I’ll spare you the bedrooms. These people were SLOBS, which didn’t make the experience any better. This apartment wasn’t that bad. There were two small bedrooms and as you can see the kitchen is teeny tiny. That is the only counter space, what you see. The catch … a one months brokers fee …  an extra months rent. So security, rent and broker fee?! I don’t know about you but I sure as hell don’t have an extra $750 hanging around. So it’s a no go. It was a two-floor walk up which is fine, but the stairs were disgusting – carpeted and probably never cleaned, ever.

We have a whole month to look, so I’m not worried. I’m living with my old co-worker, Nora, who’s German! I’m sure I mentioned it before, but there’s going to be a lot more of her soon!! She’s awesome.

We’re going to look at two more in Harlem Monday night! Woop woop for Manhattan! They’re both three bedrooms though so we would need a third roomie, any takers? I’m 100% serious so if you know someone who’s moving to the city then shoot em my way 🙂

On another note … check out my co-workers blog, OMG I moved to NYC!

Tomorrow I’m working another career fair at Columbia. Clearly not as excited for this one as Harvard because I don’t get to make a weekend out of it. But tomorrow is alumni weekend 🙂 If you’re curious of the events to ensue, scroll down.

6 Responses to “Grinder Up’”

  1. Salah October 1, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Apartment hunting…I need to start searching for my new pad soon haha…thanks for the reminder! I love your bloggie!

    GIrl, the first time I made my own PB I FREAKED OUT! I called my sister, my parents, and my best friends lol

  2. tropicaleats October 1, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    that pb grinder looks EPIC! ive only used Peter Pan and Publix brand PB before.. (which is lame).

    wonder why those ppl wouldn’t clean up their apt if they’re trying to sell it?!?1

    the apt my sister just found is only 1 bedroom 😦 so ill be living in the family room i guess. but as tim gunn says, we’ll make it work!

    have a great weekend girly!!!!

  3. leashieloo October 3, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    OMG, I’ve always wanted fresh PB like that…I am drooling over my keyboard here! Totally going to indulge the next time I hit up Whole Foods.

  4. Kat October 3, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Grinding your own peanuts for pb? Love.this. I need to cruise the local co-ops and see if they have anything on this order.

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) October 12, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Wow-I have always fancied fresh peanut butter. I think that would save so much money on peanut butter and peanut flour. Ah and all the flavours you could make yourself.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nutty on Nutty Butter « All Kinds of Hungry - October 11, 2010

    […] had a mad hankering for freshly ground peanut butter after seeing a tempting post at Freshman Year of Life. So when I spotted some at Whole Foods, you know I had to put it in my basket immediamente! It was […]

Leave a Reply

