Road to the ‘cuse

8 Oct

Home sweet home ❤ Many of you probably feel the same, but there’s nothing like coming home. No matter where my life will take me, coming home to Syracuse, NY, will always have that sense of comfort. I was so adamant about not coming back after college and though I firmly stand by my choice of going to New York, I will always love this city. Granted it’s hailed by some as the arm pit of the world and  “there’s nothing to do here” was a daily phrase I used growing up, but I guess it’s the little things I appreciate now.

IMG_0834

IMG_0825

IMG_0843

IMG_0853 IMG_0847

IMG_0865

IMG_0854 IMG_0893 IMG_0899

Just a few of my favorite ‘cuse spots. It has been a rough couple of days and coming home for the long weekend is exactly what I needed. I’m looking forward to spending time with my grents and mom, sitting on my couch watching Will and Grace, running at Green Lakes, enjoying fall weather in Central New York!

My hours on Friday are only 9 – 1 (I know, be jealous) so I was able to get on the road by 3:45ish. I literally ran the 12 blocks to GCT (Grand Central Terminal) to catch the 1:50 train and since I didn’t have time for lunch I called into my favorite deli in Newburgh for the BEST SANDWHICH EVER which I picked up on my way home.

IMG_1327

Whole Wheat wrap, turkey, lettuce, tomato, onion, pesto and sun dried tomatoes. This was a staple of mine in college.

IMG_1326

Wud up Newburgh?? Look at this awesome picture from GCT this a.m. I was rushing though but thought this deserved one.

IMG_1296

Is that not surreal?

Anyways, back to my drive. As I sat in a we bit of traffic I thought my car, Alehandro*, as we call him, deserved a little spot light.

IMG_1306 IMG_1307

Windows down, sun roof open.

IMG_1309

Music up.

IMG_1310

Mileage high.

IMG_1323

Jam session ready.

IMG_1335

Aviators on.

BAM let’s go. 3 hours = nothing.

 

*Alehandro was dubbed by Megan, one of my best friends and roommate of three years, WAY before Lady Gaga’s song was released. This car was also owned my Meg, before she sold it to me. He’s a 2000 Honda Accord and runs like a kitten.

meg 

Describes our relationship perfectly 🙂

3 Responses to “Road to the ‘cuse”

  1. Meg October 8, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    OK because you talked about me and included my favorite pic of us in this post…i’m going to ignore the fact that I’ve been hearing more from Life After College than Years of Life lately. Let’s not make this a habit tho, k?

  2. Ilana October 8, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    I have one word:

    WEGMANS!!!! 🙂

    Also … love that photo of Grand Central. Lovely.

  3. Kat October 9, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    That picture of Grand Central Station was BEYOND gorgeous. Gold star for you, lady!

Leave a Reply

