Back to Reality

12 Oct

Member that song “back to life, back to reality,” well I’m singing it to myself in my head and I’m realizing that it’s near impossible to “sing” as you type.

Anyways,

I had a glorious weekend home. It consisted mostly of sitting on my couch, coffee and laptop in tow, reading blogs and watching local news.

Hey there local weather man! I also had the opportunity to make an oatmeal pancake. I consumed one of these suckers probably 4x a week during college but due to a lack of ad stove top at the office I’ve been unable to bask in the yumminess that is an oatmeal pancake. Below is a mouth watering mixture of 1/3 cup quick oats and egg whites, 1 mushed banana, cinnamon, baking powder, and AHH I just realized I forgot the vanilla when I made it! It would have been better with vanilla but it was fabulous nonetheless. And obv, there’s two scoops of peanut butter on top.

Holy deliciousness. I also ran a good amount when I was home which was good. I didn’t get a chance to snap pics of Green Lakes because after my second run I needed to use the restroom and was dying of thirst and taking extra time to walk back to the car, walk back to the lake – you get the idea. My apologies, but take my word when I say it was absolutely gorgeous. Fall foliage was in full swing accompanied by near perfect running weather, ahhh I love it.

Sooooo guess what date is around the corner?

November 1! Guess what that is? (besides my dad’s birthday)

When I’m moving to NYC!! FINALLY. Considering I have an apartment of course, which I’m 100% confident will happen. Apartment hunting defintly runs parallel with the whole fast paced lifestyle down here. I will hopefully have two roomies which will significantly slice the rent. Here are the top 3 (err 4) reasons why I’m SUPER excited to move to New York.

1) I’ve been talking about moving to the city since high school and now it’s finally happening!

2) Partake in all that is NYC, i.e, nightlife, shopping (minimally), walking everywhere, being a slave to public transportation, meeting new people, experiencing madness day to day, etc.

3) Have my own place! And more importantly, a  kitchen. I’m dying to try all these awesome recipes I read about daily.

4) NO MORE 4 HOUR COMMUTING DAYS!!! Newbies, read that again. I commute to NYC 2 hours one way each day.
One good thing that has resulted from commuting so far is the fact I’ve read 5 books! I just opened this guy this a.m. and it’s all the rave around here so I’m excited to be included in the hype. Anyone read this?

So I’m working late a few days this week and next week and rather than buy my dinner every night, my lovely mother cooked me some chicken and veggies for the late nights.

So it doesn’t look to appetizing in pictures but trust … it’s tasty. My train doesn’t get in tonight till 9:40 😦 buttttt it’ll be over soon :))

Until next time!

4 Responses to “Back to Reality”

  1. Leanna October 13, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    Move here already so we can cause a scene on a regular basis!

  2. tropicaleats October 13, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    that commute sounds gosh awful!!!

    and dontcha worry, those veggies look good! glad you had a great weekend at home chica 🙂

  3. leashieloo October 13, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    I’m having a difficult time wrapping my head around a 2 hour commute both ways! I act like a 45 minute commute is torturous, but I’m sure you’re able to get some stuff done at least!

  4. Kat October 14, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Lady, I am beyond astonished that you’re communting two hours each way to the city. My commute round-trip is about an hour every day and sometimes I get fussy about that! Will be sending the good vibes your way for an apartment!

Leave a Reply

