Brooklyn … we go hard, we go hard

1 Nov

Waas good errrr body?

Ahem .. oh sorry I feel like I’m connecting more with HOV now that I’m a RESIDENT OF BROOKLYN!!!!

Believe it kids, believe it. Sorry for way lack of posting. The whole apartment stress made me quite frustrated, annoyed and not a happy camper. Lets just say I saw 15 apartments and half of them were three bedrooms that ended up being a total waste of my time and money because the roommate situation didn’t work out. The two girls I was going to live with couldn’t sign leases therefore making it nearly impossible for us to get a place.

Anyways, I traveled to Queens the night I looked at this place before hand and was greeted by a 35 year old software developer that was so scary, awkward and incapable of socializing that I nearly ran out of there. Sorry, I’m a 22 year old girl and don’t want to shack up with a near 40 year old man. I wasn’t even going to come to this place; one because it was all the way in Brooklyn and I didn’t want it to be another total waste of my time.

Well, thank God I did. My roommate’s name is Cristina and she’s a pre school teacher! She’s awesome and I, hands down, made the right decision.

The apartment: a REAL two bedroom with a living room, nice kitchen, first floor, super cheap and real close to the subway, which is key. It is completely empty right now as is zero furniture. Cristina moved in the beginning of October and was waiting to get a roommate before she got furniture. Woo hoo!

So last night was my first night in BK and we went to the parade in Manhattan. OMG I wish I brought my camera. My battery was mia until this a.m. but what a way to spend my first night in New York.

Today I took off work to explore my new city, and that’s exactly what I did. Enter – Trader Joe’s.

IMG_1456

Yup, I’m in love.

IMG_1457

The only TJ’s I’ve ever been in was in Union Square (NYC) and you literally couldn’t move and the line to check out was astronomically long. Look’s like the one in Brooklyn was a bit different! How cool is the building?

I only spend $42!!

Ah! I was so excited. I cannot believe how cheap this place is. I know everyone raves about it and now I know why. $.79 Greek yogurts, $1.29 whole wheat pasta, $2.99 guacamole hummus, YES PLEASE.

IMG_1465

IMG_1468

IMG_1467

Please excuse my poorly manicured fingernails. Attention: If you have a TJ’s near you, go buy this NOW. It’s sooooo yummy. It tasted exactly like avocados but  without the high fat.

IMG_1449 IMG_1450

IMG_1452

Loving downtown Brooklyn. This took be about 10 minutes to get to via subway.

Now I’m sitting in my room, on my air mattress and it looks a little something like:

IMG_1471

IMG_1470

(Like my curtain? It’s a sheet!)

IMG_1472

This weekend I’m driving up to the ‘cuse to get my bed and dresser and slowly build this place into my new home.

Tomorrow = IKEA

I’ve never been.

I’m a little nervous.

5 Responses to “Brooklyn … we go hard, we go hard”

  1. Kat November 1, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Oh dear god. If it was legal to marry TJ’s, I’d consider it. Thanks for the guac-hummus rec! I’m always dying to hear about what others find!

  2. Mary November 2, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    Love TJ’s! That hummus sounds divine!!

    Great blog!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  3. leashieloo November 2, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    IKEA is a tad overwhelming but you can score some really nice items. Have fun!

  4. Leanna November 6, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    I can’t wait to see your new place! And I definitely need some of the guacamole hummus in my life!

  5. Shannon [Tropical Eats] November 9, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    congrats on the new place!!!!!!! it sounds perfect and i ❤ the wood floors. That guac does sound really really good

Leave a Reply

