NYC: 1 Shannon: 0

24 Nov

My life has been consumed by these for the past 24 hours …

IMG_1779 

resulting from  …

IMG_1780

On Sunday, after running the half marathon and sitting in traffic for a few hours, I arrived in Brooklyn and got, what I thought, a good parking spot. CLEARLY, I was sadly mistaken. A co-worker and I we’re planning on driving to IKEA Monday after work. She came home with me, saw my apartment and walked to my car to discover it was towed. Three subway stops and a $10 cab ride later we arrive at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, aka, tow pound.

One hundred and eighty five dollars, a missing insurance card scare and slight argument with the woman I can retrieve my car.

“Hm, what are those bright orange envelopes?" I asked myself.

Ah yes, two $115 dollar tickets of course.

“So let me get this straight,” I said to the cop who drove me to my car, “I just paid 185 bucks for my car and now I have $230 worth of tickets?”

“Mam, you were in a bus lane. And yes, that’s what it looks like,” replied the cop.

Long story short: car tow + parking tickets + ignition coils for my broken car = ~$1000.

Score:

NYC: 1

Shannon: 0

I’ve been trying to be optimistic about this whole mess. It’s part of growing up I guess. I was really tempted to call into work today and just drive home a day early for the holidays (before I knew my car was broke of course) but decided against it.

I got myself in to this mess and I was going to deal with it.

I got a phone call from my grandma tonight who said she’d loan me the money for the tickets and my mom said how me she was a little upset with me, but proud at the same time of how I dealt with the whole situation.

I was standing on the subway platform tonight a few feet away stood two people, one male and one female. I couldn’t tell if they we’re husband/wife, brother/sister or just friends, but they looked, and I hate to make assumptions, homeless. They’re clothes were ragged and dirty and they oozed sadness. The expression on their faces was that of helplessness, looking like they could collapse with tears at any moment. They were grasping onto one another, not in the way people do with loved ones, or even lovers, but clutching each other as if they were the only ones left in one another’s lives.

As I stood there with my iTouch, nice purse and relatively new clothes, I felt selfish for my reaction to the car situation. There’s people without homes, single moms with children working two jobs to put food on the table, etc.

And here I am with bill from the NYPD that I knew I’d probably get some help from my family with, crying about how it’s not fair and I have no money.

True, I have no money, but I have family who can and will help me. Not only family but friends, who if I called, would loan me the money in a heartbeat. And I’m sure most of you reading this now can say the same.

I’m so blessed and thankful for the people in my life.

I’ve been reading a lot of what people are thankful for in the spirit of Thanksgiving and writing this, reflecting on the past 24 hours, I’m most thankful for the people in my life.

My mom, grandparents, friends, roommate and coworkers.

My grandma’s going to lend me the money, my mom said she’s proud, a best friend from high school says “Shannon, in 10 years, when you’re making more money, you’re going to look back on this and wonder how $400 was a make it or break it amount.” My coworker who was with me the whole night just kept reinforcing that everything gets easier and when she was my age she was “getting drunk every night in Germany, not paying bills and worrying about ‘this kind of stuff.’” My lovely roommate whom I’ve only known for a few weeks. She’s so incredible and unlike anyone else I know, or have had the opportunity to get to know. She’s a great listener; a quality that I overlook in people.

I’m heading to Syracuse tomorrow for the holidays and then to Maine on Friday.

Tomorrow night, the biggest party night of the year, all my friends from high school are getting together and going out on the town and needless to say, I’m excited – almost more excited after writing this post.

This weekend I’m going to focus on the people in my life and stop thinking and acting selfish. (ly?)

To the few who read this, take a minute and really think about how lucky you are to have people in your life who’d do anything for you.

My grandpa told me once that if you have one good friend, you’re the luckiest person in the world …

Leave a Reply

