A little South of the border

30 Nov

The roomie and I hit up Trader Joe’s last night which resulted in some serious damage. I’ve been inspired to cook lately so wanted to try something semi easy, healthy and most importantly – something I had the ingredients for.

I surfed the internet and found a simple recipe for black bean burgers!

IMG_1849 

I used oats rather than breadcrumbs that someone suggested, but I think they might have been better with the breadcrumbs. These were okay. I mean, I’m sure with a little tweaking here and there these could be outstanding, but I’ve got a basketball game to run to in a half hour so I didn’t have the time.

IMG_1847

IMG_1842

(Ah Wegmans ❤ I miss you)

Although they weren’t fabulous one of those suckers should tide me over for my 9:15 (!) game tonight.

IMG_1851

(dear Lord my photography skills need work)

So I’m joining two basketball leagues in the city and one of them starts tonight! Each is running me $200 – eeeek – but, my gym membership is only $20 per month so I’m willing to splurge. Plus I not a big fan of solely relying on a gym work out and what better than sweating your butt off running up and down a basketball court for 40 minutes? Nothing I can think of! 😉

Stocked up on breakfast at TJ’s for the week.

 IMG_1830IMG_1831

Now that folks, is fantastic.

Here are some more fun pics from my time home over break!

IMG_1817 IMG_1819

IMG_1820 IMG_1827

On a side note: A best friend of mine from high school left for Germany for two years Monday. He graduated second lieutent in the U.S. Air Force and is stationed over there. Don’t worry, he’s not actually fighting, rather managing the crew who takes care of the planes. He makes me so proud 🙂

beans

beans 2

He graduated from Auburn U in Alabama. I visited him twice and let’s just leave it at this …

9431_519037054077_65601910_31011106_5367130_n

Some random guy though it’d be genius to jump from a picnic table into a garbage can FULL of beers and ice water. I miss college …

9 Responses to “A little South of the border”

  1. Kat November 30, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    LOVE the idea of joining a rec league, especially since you love basketball so much!

    Plus, then you have to leave the house for sure 🙂

    • Shannon December 1, 2010 at 10:35 am #

      I KNOW! That was like my #1 thing I wanted to do when I got down here.

  2. leashieloo December 1, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    LOL, so then did he miss the pile of cans altogether? He looks dejected.

    • Shannon December 1, 2010 at 10:35 am #

      No his foot got caught. The whole tailgating area was basically flooded. It made for a good laugh though.

  3. TheSceneFromMe December 8, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Yum, I love black bean burgers!

    • Shannon December 9, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      Me too! Like I said, there were “eh” I love the Morning Star Spicy Black Bean ones 🙂

  4. Mads December 9, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    That is the same as my breakfast bowls almost every morning…go team!
    The last picture is so funny and reminds me of good college times.

    • Shannon December 9, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      Can’t go wrong with good ole’ granola 😉 That’s why I posted that last picture … so we can reminisce 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Half Day Wednesdays « Freshman Year of Life - February 2, 2011

    […] my friend Anthony? (Scroll to the bottom of that […]

Leave a Reply

