The time I saved $300 on yoga.

9 Dec

I bought my first Groupon today! Twenty yoga classes for $90 with a whopping savings of $290. How crazy is that?! I did the math and it rounds out to $4.50 per class. I looked at this place on Yelp and it had nothing but good reviews. I’m excited 🙂 I’m not going to go until the new year. I’m going home for a week an then it’s news years so I’d figure I’d wait till I’m stay put.

image

I finally stocked up on legitmate groceries this week. I’m starting to think I’ll go to Trader Joe’s once a week or so for the big buy and the small corner grocery store on the corner for small stuff here and there.

IMG_1881

IMG_1878

IMG_1876

So DELICIOUS.

This past weekend was awesome. My cousin, Ibby, drove in from Boston with her boyfriend so we got to hang out all weekend.

IMG_1857

Yay for Rockefeller Center! It was PACKED with people so we took our pictures and left. We headed up to East Harlem because her brother and his fiancé were hosting a cookie exchange and I was invited at Thanksgiving! (that’s why Ibby was in town)

We stopped at a liquor store before hand and look what I found!

IMG_1859 I may or may not have drank the entire bottle. And look what we got here:

IMG_1858

O.M.G.

I had a sugar hang over the next day.

Each guest had to bring two dozen cookies and at the end of the night everyone took six of each kind. A genius idea  in my opinion. That way you don’t have to make 10 different kinds of cookies 🙂

They’re apartment was gorgeous. East Harlem is really up and coming! The building was brand spanking new and everything was funky and modern. I was clearly distracted by cookies and wine to take more pictures of the apartment, but take my word.

At work I’ve been working with Photoshop a lot and I wish I had the time to edit my blog pictures before posting them. As I’m sure most of you know, just the smallest changes in the levels and curve made the world of the difference.

Eventually I’m planning on buying a Mac book pro and the design suite, but not any time soon.

I’m attending SantaCon on Saturday and am a little nervous. It’s when thousands of people dress as Santa and basically bar hop. But as the website says : “It’s not a bar crawl: Every time you call Santacon a bar crawl, a sugarplum fairy dies.”

So oops! A sugarplum fairy just died …

6 Responses to “The time I saved $300 on yoga.”

  1. leashieloo December 10, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Great Groupon get! Whoa now, alliterations. I’ve yet to score a deal that good…yet!

  2. Brenna December 11, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    What a great Groupon deal! I wish that existed where I live. I might go to Santacon in Paris, but I am afraid I would feel guilty going to a bar crawl in Paris. To go/not to go? Have fun today!!

  3. Kat December 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I LOVE Groupons but the ones we’ve had in MN lately have just sucked. Obviously, we don’t love that.

    Aren’t cookie exchanges just the best? My girlfriends did them last year and it was really just the easiest way to surround yourself in deliciousness.

    Have a fun time at SantaCon!

  4. Mads December 12, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    I love cookie exchanges!
    Those peanut butter ones with kisses are my favorite.
    Sounds like fun

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wrap Up « Freshman Year of Life - January 23, 2011

    […] that time I saved $300 of yoga? Well I have been going and loving […]

  2. Arabian Nights « Freshman Year of Life - February 24, 2011

    […] I like to share some of what I eat, recipes I try and half marathons I don’t train for, but for now I’m just trying to be […]

Leave a Reply

