Living in the now.

14 Dec

I’m always thinking, planning, wondering, imagining future events in my life. Always.  Whether it’s tomorrow, next month, next year or five years from now. In college I obsessed about moving to New York. The summer before my senior year I was planning on getting an amazing internship and living in Manhattan. My hobby was looking on craigslist for summer sublets and figuring out the costs for NYU housing over the summer. (They offer housing for non-NYU students)

147

When I’m working out I think, “Tomorrow when I work out I’m going to do 10 more push ups,” rather than just focusing on the ones I’m doing then. Or when I’m running on the treadmill I’ll think, “Tomorrow I’m going to run a mile at a 7.5 pace,” rather then focusing on my pace at that time.

n65601700_30754586_4167257

I’ll see someone walking down the street in an adorable outfit and think, “I can’t wait to wear something like that when I’m skinny.” More recently it has been the direction I want this blog to go, or my life in general for that matter. Do I want this to be a food blog? A fitness blog? A social media, how to, healthy living or a NYC focused blog?

Am I going to stay in communications forever? Should I start preparing/researching MBA programs? What if I wanted to be a NYC teachers fellow? Today I was looking up info for cosmetology school to be a hair dresser. Maybe I could open up a salon? Or a cafe? Corporate or non profit? I’ve been saying how being a college professor could be perhaps the sweetest deal out there.

Graduation 088

I know this is normal but I take it too far.

I need to focus on living in the now. Drive my attention to what I’m doing at specific moments rather than worrying about “next time.” I’ve had an amazing life filled with family, friends and I’ve traveled to Ireland (twice), France, Italy and Croatia.

IMG_0466

IMG_0432 IMG_0428

Dubrovnik, Croatia

486

Bray, Ireland

162 327

I need to take life as it comes and stop worrying. There are so many blogs out there any every new one I stumble upon a learn something from. So thank you blog world for inspiring me and teaching me everyday.

I guess this falls into that category of  my Freshman Year of Life …

7 Responses to “Living in the now.”

  1. Kat December 14, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    That top that you’re wearing in Croatia (the tube/tunic thing) is just adorable!

    Don’t fret lady – we ALL have trouble living in the moment. But for what it’s worth, right now you have SO much going for you. That’s a lot of things to enjoy in the moment 🙂

    • Shannon December 15, 2010 at 8:15 am #

      Thanks 🙂 Forever 21!

      Aw that’s very sweet. You’re right too, there IS so much right now to celebrate.

  2. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover December 14, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    I’m just happy you realized you should focus more on NOW then on the past or the future. So don’t worry, girl!
    Things will work out for you 😀

    • Shannon December 15, 2010 at 8:13 am #

      I know they will! It’s just the uncertainty :/

  3. Leanna December 14, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    I can totally relate lady! I change my mind about my life every day. See you tomorrow!

  4. Sarah @ See Sarah Graduate December 15, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    I love this. I’ve gone through the exact same thing. I use to get soooo frustrated when thinking about what I’m going to do after college or just get obsessed with those things I’m going to do later in life. Recently I’ve begun living in the now and not worrying so much about what’s coming on down the road and I couldn’t be happier. 🙂
    Good luck to you! 😀

  5. Mads December 18, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I do the same thing…and I spend a lot of time thinking about what my blog is going to be. I need to stop doing that, because after a year of blogging it’s just going to be what it is.
    If people read it, yay! If not, that’s ok too.
    Now I have a lot more fun posting because I’m not worried about what shape it’s going to take.

Leave a Reply

