I’ve Caught the Baking Bug

15 Dec

Ladies and gentlemen, I present red velvet cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting. Let it be known that I’ve never baked anything from scratch before, or baked anything for that matter. IMG_2043

I recall last Christmas attempting to bake peppermint cookies but they turned out awful. Picture raw (not the good raw) white balls of flour covered in peppermint shavings. Bad people, just bad.

I’ve redeemed myself. Our office holiday party is tomorrow night and with all these baked sweets dominating the food blog world I was inspired to partake.

I volunteered to make red velvet cupcakes, from scratch; I even said that in the email to the organizer to prove to myself that I was going to .

I knew I had a cupcake pan so I thought heck, I’ll make some cupcakes!

Problem: a cupcake pan was all I had, literally. No mixer, spatula, flour, sugar, nothing. A trip to Target and Trader Joe’s later I was ready to tackle.

IMG_2025

I followed this recipe from Paula Dean on the Food Network’s website.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  1. Sift 2.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups sugar, 1tsp baking soda, salt and cocoa powder
  2. Beat 1 cup veg oil (calls for 1.5 but 1 cup is plenty), buttermilk (room temp), 2 large eggs, 1 tbsp red food coloring, 1 tsp white distilled vinegar and vanilla
  3. Gradually add dry mixture and beat until smooth

IMG_2029

4. Pour 2/3 way into cupcake pan. Recipe says it makes 24. I only got 16 but I used 1 cup veg oil not 1.5 and was pretty generous.

5. Bake for 10 minutes and turn pan for another 10. I let mine stay in for another 3 minutes or so. I was toothpick-less so I stuck a knife in and it came out perfectly clean!

Frosting = 1 lb cream cheese (soft), 2 sticks butter (soft), 4 cups powdered sugar, 1tsp vanilla

Beat fiercely until it resembles a silk, heavenly like texture that only butter, sugar and cream cheese can produce.

IMG_2037

Frost and garnish!

IMG_2042

IMG_2047 

This is my proudest moment in the kitchen to date. This little guy I had for myself. I was much more generous in the frosting department on the others but I figured I’d cut back. Not because I stuck my finger in the frosting or batter or licked the spoons or anything.

Make sure the cakes cool before you slather the buttery, cheesy, sugary goodness they call frosting on them.

My night looked like this:

IMG_2044

Mariah Christmas Pandora – Check

$3 pino from TJ’s – Check

Christmas tree scented Yankee candle – Check

Red velvet cupcake – Check

Don’t judge me. We have no furniture in our living room yet. And let it also be known that these cupcakes were constructed in my fabulous Brooklyn kitchen with endless miles of sprawling counter space.

IMG_2032 

IMG_2033

IMG_2034 

IMG_2035

($60 IKEA chopping block that my blood, sweat and tears went into)

How can you not love it.

7 Responses to “I’ve Caught the Baking Bug”

  1. Allie December 16, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    You’ve never baked anything from scratch before and those are your first cupcakes?! HOLY COW! They look perrrrffeccct!!! Good job 🙂 🙂

    • Shannon December 16, 2010 at 10:22 am #

      Thanks!!!! I know can you believe it? But I really think I’ve caught the bug. I’m looking up recipes for buttermilk pancakes to use the leftover ingredients!

  2. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover December 16, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    YUUUM – red velvet cake!
    I really wanted to try this sometime 😀

  3. Leanna December 17, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    They were delicious!!!

  4. Kat December 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Lady, truly, I am SO impressed by your efforts. Holy wow.

    Separately, I just adore your night in – what a perfect mix.

  5. leashieloo December 21, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    That’s an excellent first attempt, the cupcakes look gorgey!

  6. Shannon [Tropical Eats] December 23, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    holy crap from scratch?!

    you’ve got some mad baking skills my dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

