You had me at VIA

7 Jan

Starbucks VIA is fantastic. I had my doubts. I’ve tasted a few different kinds of instant coffee and I’d rather suffer through a caffeine headache then choke down that mud-like brown water.

My friend sent me some as a Christmas gift along with an adorable tumbler and a pound of the house roast. I’m attempting to keep them for only “emergency” situations, i.e. out of office coffee, but they’re addicting.

IMG_2175

IMG_2174

So good!

NYC was snowy this a.m. You can’t really tell but when I took these pictures it was pouring snow. My boss kept commenting on how bad it looks and I repeatedly exclaimed “It’s a winter wonderland, not a storm!” Perhaps two packets was a little over board on top of a good nights sleep.

IMG_2178

IMG_2179

IMG_2176

nom nom nom

Determined to use the new Laughing Cow Blue Cheese wedges in my dinner …

IMG_2206

I originally was going to make a buffalo chicken pizza which morphed into buffalo chicken, onion, and mushroom quesadillas.

IMG_2203

IMG_2200

They turned out SO GOOD!

Buffalo Chicken and Mushroom Quesadillas

  • 1 chicken breast (boneless skinless)
  • 1 small white onion
  • sliced mushrooms
  • Laughing Cow blue cheese wedge
  • mozz cheese
  • whole wheat tortilla
  • buffalo sauce
  • butter
  1. Bake chicken in oven till almost cooked though. I did about 20 min in 375
  2. Sautee onions and mushrooms in 2 tbsp olive oil. 25-30 minutes low-medium heat.
  3. Take chicken out and pull apart with two forks and add to onions and mushrooms until chicken is cooked through.
  4. Add small slice of butter and as much buffalo sauce as you heart desires. I’m a whimp so I don’t go too crazy.
  5. Spread Laughing Cow on tortilla, spray pan and put on low heat.
  6. Top it with you’re yummy mixture, add mozz cheese and fold!

One of the best quick, simple meals I’ve made thus far.

When I cook, I cook very simple – almost too simple. I’m talking baked chicken with roasted vegetables, eggs, once I made stuffed peppers, stir fry, you get the idea. So for me to actually take my time, and do this right was a big step for me!

Hopefully this will lead into a little more complex meals …

Baby steps.

(side note: Forest Gump is on and my roommate and I keep saying “seats taken” in the most awful southern accents possible, what of it?”

2 Responses to “You had me at VIA”

  1. Kat January 8, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Ahahahahaha. I think it’s hysterical that you kept on re-framing “Heinous Blizzard” as “Winter Wonderland” 🙂

    I’ve never tried the VIA packets, but I know so many people who rave about them, that I’m positive you’re in good company!

  2. leashieloo January 8, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    I didn’t have a good experience with VIA, but maybe my taste buds are just weird. Your quesadilla looks awesome, I love using Laughing Cow cheese in cooking!

Leave a Reply

