Body Shock

12 Jan

I’ve always been an active person. Ever since I was a little kid I was involved in various activities i.e. Irish Step Dancing, basketball, soccer, skiing, ice skating and lacrosse. For any new readers, I played basketball in college so one year ago today I was in awesome shape. When my career ended last March my activity slowed down. Naturally because I wasn’t running up and down a court for two hours seven days a week.

I didn’t quit the gym totally, I ran a few races, including the Phili Half Marathon, and went to the gym a few times a week, but nothing compared to the work out I was getting in college.

Beach to Beacon 10K, Cape Elizabeth, Maine

Well, I’m on that road to getting in shape again and as of Wednesday, January 12, 2011, my body hurts … in all the right ways. My hamstrings are tight, quads, triceps, stomach, everything hurts, because I’m finally hitting the gym hard again.

This week’s work out schedule:

Sunday:  15 min arc trainer, 20 min treadmill (running intervals between 5.5 and 7.5) 30 minutes of weight lifting.

Monday: 1hr Yoga at the studio where I bought the Groupon!

Tuesday: Basketball Game at Chelsea Piers

Today: Yoga

Tomorrow: Gym again.

Tonight will be my fourth yoga class and it’s taking my shoulders, hip flexors and ham strings and giving them a work out like they’ve never experienced. New found respect for you real yogis. Dear Lord that takes strength.

In any event, that’s my exercise news.

In other, more exciting news …

Argyle stockings, leg warmers and polka boots anyone? Don’t hate. I had to be prepared because Brooklyn got some serious snow, as did the rest of the US.

The front of my building 🙂

It wasn’t as bad as everyone predicted plus I love when scenery is coated in a blanket of white.

Well I’m off to Yoga Sutra for another intense work out … pray for me.

 

4 Responses to “Body Shock”

  1. BostonRunner January 12, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I know the feeling! I miss sports so much! No matter how hard I try I can never kick my ass as hard as my coaches could…

    • Shannon January 13, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      So frustrating!

  2. Leanna January 12, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Tomorrow at work you better tell me where you bought those leg warmers. Soooo cute!

    • Shannon January 13, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      Bakers girl but they sell them everywhere … get on it … they’re super warm and comfy.

Leave a Reply

