Blah

19 Jan

Good morning fellow bloggers and blog readers alike. So why the “blah” heading you ask? I’ll dive in  so grab a bottle, hunker down, and pray for daylight. (Will and Grace quote … anyone, anyone?)

It’s approaching the 2.5 month mark since I’ve moved to Brooklyn, so first I’ll give myself a pat on the back for actually pulling it off. Phew. I actually did it. I may only have $217 dollars till my next paycheck (errrr Jan 31) but who’s to judge, I’m getting by.

The alumni basketball game this past weekend up in Newburgh was great and all my friends came up to, let’s be real here, drink our faces off and pretend we were still in college.

IMG_2247

IMG_2256

Hey Shan, are you drinking keg beer out of a coffee cup? Yup. Get some.

IMG_2262 

Me: Hey Ian, can I get a cup?

Ian: Sure follow me. (walk into kitchen)

Me: Um how about a red cup?

Ian: No, here you go. Now pinky’s up!

Anyways, the weekend was awesome, but here’s my issue … I think. You see, in college when we would go out and party I’d wake up the next day surrounded by friends, go to the dining hall, and get a huge salad (God I miss salad bars) and go to practice to sweat my butt off for 2.5 hours, maybe do a little homework, reminisce about how much fun we had the previous night, etc.

Now, I come back to reality. Now I’ll spare you the whining about paying for everything myself, the current lack of energy to cook anything more than eggs and the freedom that has me skipping the gym more frequently. I get that. I’d like to think that everyone, at some point in their lives goes through that.

I guess mine is more mental. I’m a pretty outwardly happy person. I’m always cracking jokes, smiling, chit-chatting with everyone I meet but days like yesterday, when people ask me if I’m feeling okay, I know I’m in a funk.

This phase of my Freshman Year of Life I’ll dub as “transition.” Well now that I think about it, this whole year is a transition, so for lack of a better word, we’ll stick with that.

I can’t help but think sometimes how insanely different my life would be if I moved home to Syracuse, but I didn’t, I chose to live on my own immediately. Before, I was so determined to move here that I never really thought about the “what now.”

Okay I moved, found a job, the exciting stuff is over – right? WRONG SHANNON.

Bottom line is I need to … (omg don’t laugh at what I’m about to say) grab life by the horns, if you will.

I know I’m doing fine, but more times then not I’m missing that sense “go get em” attitude I’ve always had.

Well it’s now 7:41 a.m. and I need to get ready for work. Thanks for listening and my apologies for ranting, but now I must get ready for work.

I’ll be back after yoga tonight. Maybe some vinyasa flows will help 😉

2 Responses to “Blah”

  1. leashieloo January 19, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    LMAO, hey at least you were classy about it. Love the extended pinky 🙂

  2. Steph January 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I think you’ll find that as much as you miss the last couple of years, there’s something very beautiful about the challenge of figuring it all out – about growing up in essence. It’s not an easy feat and you can’t change the world, but you can be the change you want to see in the world.

Leave a Reply

