Midnight Cake Baking

25 Jan

IMG_2360

A little inspiration for your Tuesday morning.

I was given permission to come into work today at 10! I had to staff a New York Knicks game last night. Darn it all. Really me? Go to a Knicks game for free? Aw shucks.  Oh and there’s a $10 food and drink voucher included? FINE. I’ll go.

IMG_2341

IMG_2342 IMG_2343

GO KNICKS!

I was impressed with the social media person for the Knicks

Well done! I had some re-tweets in there to give them credit.

So when I got home at

IMG_2348

I did this.

IMG_2349

IMG_2350 IMG_2352

Yes that’s a cake. A dark chocolate cake made from scratch. If you’re knew to Freshman Year of Life, you’re unaware of my superb, expansive history of baking things from scratch.

It’s our amazing intern’s last day on Thursday so we’re having a party for him on and because I don’t have ounce of time tonight I had to prep it last night and bake it this a.m.

IMG_2355

I was a bit nervous this morning when I pulled the batter out of the fridge and it looked like the above photo.

Enter: panic mode.

So what’s a 22 year old girl who’s slowly discovering her inner domestic goddess to do?

Call mom!

She reassured me it’d be fine if I just let it warm up to room temp. Fingers crossed kids.

I’ll be reporting back tonight between my 6:30 vinyasa class and my 10:15 basketball game.

Yup 10:15 p.m. it starts. Hence no time to bake cake.

Peace out cub scouts.

4 Responses to “Midnight Cake Baking”

  1. Kat January 25, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Good luck, lady! I’m definitely guessing that warming to room-temperature should do a great deal for the situation. Fingers and toes are crossed!

  2. Shannon [Tropical Eats] January 26, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    hope the cake turned out ok!!!

    That is BALLER you got to go to the game 🙂 love companies using social media!

  3. Brenna [fabuleuxdestin] January 27, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    That is so cool you got to go to a Knicks game for work! I just started playing basketball in France! So much fun! Midnight baking is the best – I have the same mug (but with a B) and it’s my fav!! It’s at home and I miss it!

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss January 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Nothing like a cake as a midnight snack. 😉

Leave a Reply

