An Indian Affair: Channa Marsala

31 Jan

IMG_7646

I wish I could take credit for the above photo but it’s from the foodie, baker extraordinaire Jenna at Eat Live Run. I’ve been dying to make this but was lacking in the spice department. After a trip to Trader Joe’s and the deli down the street I had everything but the coriander. I had come this far and was not looking back.

IMG_2472

Now that’s mine! Bam, spam, thank you mam. Jenna’s recipe was VERY easy to follow and my roommate was laughing at me during the pinceing process. Read the post, you’ll understand.

          Onions take 1.                                    Onions take 2.

IMG_2464 IMG_2469

Hmmmmm sautéed onions how I love you. If you’re into Indian food then get to the kitchen stat. This is pretty easy to make and pretty healthy for ya. Load up on the spices though. You’ll need: cumin, coriander, garam masala, cayenne pepper and tumeric. 

I put too much cayenne in it, hence the photo below. But I’m a huge wuss when it comes to spicy. I might but another can of diced tomatoes and add to take the edge off.

IMG_2473 

Much better.

I’ve got to say that seltzer is my new thing. I used to think it was vile, but I’m becoming quite the fan. I feel like it’s healthy soda.

IMG_2475 

IMG_2477

Ah I’m nothing but class. Matches in the background and everything.

2 Responses to “An Indian Affair: Channa Marsala”

  1. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking February 1, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I really like seltzer water. Have been drinking it for years. I add lime, lemon and some times a little juice.
    This recipe looks good and easy too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buffalo Chicken Wontons « Freshman Year of Life - February 7, 2011

    […] This is the second recipe I’ve made from Eat, Live, Run, check out my channa masala! […]

Leave a Reply

