Half Day Wednesdays

2 Feb

One of my job perks is a 35 hour flex time schedule. I used to have Friday afternoons off which was awesome, but after some internal changes I now have Wednesday afternoons off. I must admit, at first, I was super bummed for obvious reasons , but I’m mentally adjusting to it.

Pros for having Wednesday afternoons off:

  1. Good mid week break.
  2. Still in productive mode (gym, blogging, etc)
  3. Still can run errands, go to doctors appointments before it’s dark out.
  4. Fridays = Happy Hour!

Sometimes I’d come back into Manhattan from Brooklyn (where I live) on Fridays and it was getting a little annoying. But now I can join the rest of the world for drinks at 5!

So I lugged the laptop to the office and am planted in the adjacent Starbucks till my 5:30 vinyasa class. 

IMG_2483

In other exciting news, I’m going Europe for a month! Not till next summer, as in over a year from now and nothing is booked yet but I can still be excited right?

Remember my friend Anthony? (Scroll to the bottom of that post)

He’s in Germany for a few years for the Air Force and I think him and I are going travel around Europe together. We spoke yesterday on the phone and I said that I was coming for a month, visiting him, traveling around and he was more than welcome to join. We’re both 95% sure we can take that much time off at once which is the main hurdle, well that, and paying for everything, but I’ve got more than a year so I think I can manage.

Mite as well when I’m young right? Who knows where we (or I) will go but personally I’d like to visit Milan, Prague, some small town on the coast in France, Barcelona, Greece and obviously cities in Germany.

I’ve been to:

  • Paris
  • Nice (France)
  • Monaco
  • Rome
  • Florence
  • Assisi
  • Pisa
  • Dublin
  • Galway
  • Dubrovnik (Croatia)

Looking to significantly expand that list before I’m 25.

Confession: I’ve already been thinking that I need to have a smart phone and a smaller laptop so I can blog and tweet while I’m there. I wonder if there’s Four Square in Europe? How cool would it be to check in to places in different countries?

I know fellow bloggers/social media addicts get this. It’s the others …“So does Snooki like know you’re following her???” – Curious non social media savvy friend of mine.

6 Responses to “Half Day Wednesdays”

  1. BostonRunner February 2, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    I think I’m traveling to Europe in June tooo!! You’ve been to so many places! That’s awesome!
    I’m trying to set up a trip as sort of a “post-graduation” thing.

    Wednesday afternoons off sounds kind of cool to me! I feel like I would utilize that time off a lot more than I would on a Friday afternoon!

    • Shannon February 3, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      That’s exactly what I did when I went back to Ireland and Croatia in May. DO IT!!!!!!

  2. Smiling In A Foreign Land February 2, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I just got back from 20 months traveling around Europe and you will NOT regret it!!!! It’s a great thing to do while you can, before getting too settled with work or family or anything! 🙂 If you want a nice city in Greece, Napflio is cool! Not touristic in the ‘normal’ way, but a lot of Greeks go there for holidays, so it’s touristic, but still authentically Greek! 🙂

    • Shannon February 3, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      OMG 20 months. You’re my hero girl. Can’t wait to read deeper in your blog. And I may be stalking your life come closer to the trip cities to go to.

  3. Angela February 3, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I personally didn’t think Milan was as great as people made it out to be. I loved Venice and Capri though! I heard Prague and Spain are the 2 most beautiful places…and I’ve personally ALWAYS wanted to go to Greece. That’s so exciting you will get to do so!

  4. Shannon [Tropical Eats] February 3, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    hahah that snooki question is awesome.

    SO jealous of your europe adventure!!! keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

