Buffalo Chicken Wontons

7 Feb

OOOOOOO baby do I have a treat for you.

IMG_2529 

I think the only healthy ingredient in these was the water I used to seal each wonton.

IMG_2533

These were obviously a super bowl hit! I followed Jenna’s recipe over at Eat, Live, Run and they came out perfect.

First I deboned/skinned a rotisserie chicken and chopped her up in little pieces. Next I melted 1/4 stick butter over medium heat in a regular frying pan, added the chicken and two cloves minced garlic. Because the chicken was already cooked I heated it through making sure every little piece was coated in buttery goodness.

Next, remove from heat and add 1/3 buffalo sauce. Franks will do but I used this:

         IMG_2519 IMG_2520

This stuff was amazing! Thank you Whole Foods.

Stir in sauce and let cool. Add 2 cups mozz and 1 cup cheddar cheese.

IMG_2524

IMG_2526

If I ever make these again, I will most definitely  add crumbly bleu cheese to the mixture and not as much mozzarella.

Now is the fun part! Heat an inch or so of vegetable oil in pan over medium high heat. Then lay out your little wonton wrappers and put a scoop in the middle.

IMG_2530

                 Fold                          and                       fry!                   

IMG_2531  IMG_2528 Flip after a minute or so and cook other side till golden brown.

IMG_2534

Finally eat them all share with your loved ones!

This is the second recipe I’ve made from Eat, Live, Run, check out my channa masala!

I’ll be burning these off for days but oh well … it was worth it.

10 Responses to “Buffalo Chicken Wontons”

  1. Leanna February 7, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    These were amazing! I can’t wait to make a batch of my own!

  2. John February 7, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    Damn. I’m so hungry now. Those look friggin’ awesome.

  3. Kat February 8, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    The things that are the most fried are always worth it. You just have to live in the moment ;). Marcus is all about the Frank’s Red Hot and I’m in the middle of making he and Cholula BFF.

  4. Raya February 10, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Those look awesome! I love her recipes as well-I just made her Buffalo Chicken Dip for a Superbowl party I went to!!

  5. Susan - Nurse on the Run February 11, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Can we be friends and eat these? I love anything involving buffalo chicken…

  6. LASKMY SANTIN February 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    These look so delicious. I would so buy them off of you

  7. Shannon [Tropical Eats] February 22, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    just saw these. HOLY COW.. AMAZING!

  8. missgizdixon March 11, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    I just got hungry!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting in the flow « Freshman Year of Life - February 13, 2011

    […] buffalo chicken wontons were restaurant […]

  2. Arabian Nights « Freshman Year of Life - February 24, 2011

    […] I like to share some of what I eat, recipes I try and half marathons I don’t train for, but for now I’m just trying to be […]

Leave a Reply

