Arabian Nights

24 Feb

Remember that song from Aladdin? Ah to be young again.

2044803

The lovely Leanna and I headed across the street during our lunch for some manicures and Arabian Nights was my color of choice. I feel so much better with nice manicured hands, agreed?

IMG_0034Oh hey bags under my eyes, funky hair, large zit (s) on the forehead and arguably the ugliest fingers on the planet, what’s up? Normally I’d curse, pick, pry and attempt to fix you but your here and that’s alright.

As of late I’ve been reading a lot of “body loving” blogs and it has got me thinking.

I’ve been reading “healthy living blogs” for over two years now. And I won’t lie, when I first started this blog that was my goal. “I’m going to take pictures of my food, blog about my life attempting to be fit and healthy,” and almost mimic other many healthy living blogs out there.

Who wouldn’t want to have rock hard bodies, eat (pretty much) only super healthy food and run marathons all while being super happy and enthusiastic about it?

I’m a vulnerable person and I found myself (gulp) falling into the “trap” of comparison. Yes I do love  and have oatmeal every morning but my lunch is rarely a great colorful, nutrient packed, delicious meal that I carefully planned. It’s usually soup and toast with triangle cheese. Maybe some hummus and crackers if my budget allowed it. Exciting stuff, I know.

And why wasn’t I so enthusiastic about working out. Yes, I do like exercising and the way it makes me feel. Do I love exercise? No. Do I think 20 minutes of running at a 6.5 pace on the treadmill is a solid cardio workout before lifting? Yes. Have I ever done an hour of cardio at the gym? Yes – once. And I almost died of boredom.

Catch my drift?

I’m most certain I’m not alone. Because of my vulnerability, current struggles and constant feeling of comparison, I stopped reading a few healthy living bloggers daily. Read: daily. I was surrounding myself with what was mentally hurting me.

I took it a mini step further and unfollowed a few on Twitter as well.

For some of you this may be hard to understand others not so much. Do I still have a lot of respect for these bloggers that have literally dedicated their lives to their blogs, of course. It takes courage and persistence (among many other adjectives) to do what these women do. 

But it’s not me, at least right now.

Yes I like to share some of what I eat, recipes I try and half marathons I don’t train for, but for now I’m just trying to be me.

My Freshman Year of Life will end pretty soon but this blog will not. The name will change and the content will (ideally) be a bit more focused, but for now, I’ll continue living, learning and writing down my random musings in the lovely space they call the world wide web.

6 Responses to “Arabian Nights”

  1. Brenna [fabuleuxdestin] February 25, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    YAY! First of all, I’m jealous of your pretty mani, because manis here are so expensive and i miss my little spot in Philly where I used to get 8 dollars manis. Secondly, I love your blog the way it is! I can really relate to what you post as a fellow “freshman” in my year of life!

    • Shannon February 25, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      Thanks girl! This just made my morning 🙂

  2. Leanna February 26, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Manicures=one of the best decisions we’ve ever made. However, if may be topped by Chipotle lunch next week.

  3. Kat February 28, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    1. LOVE your mitts!!!

    2. I so agree with this post, lady! The comparison game is impossible. And at the end of the day, we can’t slap a blog-styled cookie-cutter on our lives.

  4. MaryKate March 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Shanny, your writing makes me tear up a bit. you’re such a talented and awesome person and i’m so glad your my friend. LOVE your blog, and your randomness and especially the fact that you dont train for half marathons 🙂 see you for the Broad Street Run this May !

    • Shannon March 4, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      i LOVE you mk!!!

Leave a Reply

