Clean Eatin’

19 Apr

So after my weekend of massive beer and diner food consumption, I owed it to my bod to eat fresh, real food. Because I’m going home to Syracuse on Thursday and have a jam packed couple of days, there’s no time for Trader Joe’s. So rather than buy my lunch for the next three days, the lovely Leanna from OMG I Moved to NYC and I headed to Gristedes (grocery store) during lunch and picked up the ultimate sandwich essentials. It literally pains me to shop at Griestedes because of how insanely expensive it is, but it’s cheaper than buying lunch everyday!

To put it in perspective, Coffee Mate creamer sells for a whopping $5.59, a small avocado was $2.99, and a half gallon of Silk soy milk is $5.99. I’m not sure where you are on the map, but that’s extremely pricy for my budget. I didn’t purchase any of the above because I couldn’t bring myself too when I usually pay less than $6 for all the above at TJ’s.

What I did buy was cheese, fresh deli turkey, sandwich thins, lettuce, tomato, hummus, two Chobani’s, blackberries and two grapefruits totaling $38. WOOF. But sinking my teeth into a homemade turkey sandwich was totally worth it. I used to eat sandwiches all the time, but I haven’t lately because it kinda takes a while. Isn’t that ridiculous? I was almost bitten by the “since I live in New York I need to do everything 10x as fast as the rest of the world” bug but I think I escaped.

IMG 0645

IMG 0644

IMG 0646

For dinner I had an enormous salad and a chicken breast covered with egg, panko bread crumbs, salt, pepper, a little bit of flour and lemon pepper, baked at 350 for ~30 minutes. Delish.

IMG 0648

IMG 0649

IMG 0650

I think tomorrow I need to stop and get some sort of dessert because I was feening (sp?) for something sweet. So what’s a girl to do to happens to read healthy living/food blogs? Fry a banana and sprinkle it with brown sugar and cinnamon, clearly.

IMG 0651

Now I’m watching William and Kate on Lifetime wishing I was Kate Middleton for a day. I mean come on?

 

Leave a Reply

