Broad Street Run Recap

2 May

I registered for this race almost immediately following the Phili Half Marathon mostly because my friend Mary Kate regretting not signing up for the half and why not run 10 miles?

IMG 0836

I finished in 1:51:46 which is an average page of 9:44 per mile. Not too shabby for me.

IMG 0848

I headed to Philadelphia the Saturday before and arrived around 3:30. I LOVE Phili. I feel like it’s a mini Brooklyn. Unfortunately we didn’t really explore due to lack of time, but we said we’d make a weekend over the summer dedicated strictly to eating, drinking and shopping. I’m excited.

IMG 0815

We were staying with her brother who lives there and also running the race.

IMG 0831

It was the perfect weather for a race. Sunny but not too sunny, warm but not too warm, cool but not too cool, you get it.

Saturday night we made this KILLER pasta dish from the Food Network.

IMG 0825

So good and perfect pre race meal. We also drank. Probably too much. None of us really trained so we didn’t see the harm. I, though didn’t properly train, was far more prepared for this race than the Phili half. I’ve been running ~5 miles 2 to 3x per week and going classes at my gym, so it wasn’t as awful as the half.

Needless to say, I finished and am alive. After we headed to a Mary Kate’s brothers friend’s house for brunch. Literally perfect food. Fruit, quiche, cheese grits and a mini blueberry muffin. I didn’t have mimosas because I had to sit on a bus back to NYC and didn’t want to feel delirious.

IMG 0853

I’m no where need as sore as I thought I’d be today. I orginially took the day off because I thought I wouldn’t be leaving Phili till today, but plans changed and now I’m back in Brooklyn at an adorable cafe, drinking coffee and prepping for my announcement on May 15!

IMG 0858

Get excited.

 

 

4 Responses to “Broad Street Run Recap”

  1. Jenna May 2, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    Congrats on your race time! And I’m loving your computer background– love that quote!!

  2. Brenna [fabuleuxdestin] May 2, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Awesome job! So happy to hear that you like Philly !! It gets a bad rep. Also, I am still jealous of your Macbook Pro. It’s so cute!

  3. BostonRunner May 2, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Congrats on the race! I love your desktop background – so inspiring!

  4. lisa @ early morning run May 2, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    congrats on a great race and a fun weekend! I was signed up for the race my an injury sidelined me. 😦 So sad!! Hopefully next year I’ll make it to the start (and finish) line!

Leave a Reply

